slide 1
slide 1
Image Slide 2
Image Slide 2

Nkana edge Nkwazi to go second

Filed under: Latest News,Sports |

NkanaNkana moved into second position on the MTN FAZ Super League standings and closed the gap on leaders Zanaco to nine points as they came from a goal down to defeat Nkwazi 2-1 in a Week 18 match at Nkana Stadium on Sunday.

Chishimba Changala handed the visitors the lead on 23 minutes when he released a ferocious shot to beat Scott Ngokene in goal for Nkana after Donashano Malama’s clearing header fell in his path.

Simon Bwalya equalised in the 43rd minute with his fourth goal of the season for the hosts via a trademark header and an assist by Man-of-the-Match Dieugo Apanane.

Nkana’s leading scorer Walter Bwalya, who has scored ten league goals excluding the own goal against Lusaka Tigers, put the hosts in front for the first time in the 50th minute with what proved to be a decisive goal.

The victory means that Nkana have 34 points, a point clear of third placed Zesco United who have two games in hand.

Nkwazi on the other hand did not move as they remained in 9th position with 23 points.

Their next match is against Mufulira Wanderers who defeated them 2-1 in a Week Two reverse fixture played at Shinde Stadium in March.

Meanwhile, Nkana striker Walter Bwalya is now the second player after Jesse Jackson Were of Zesco United to hit double figures on the top the top goal scorers chart which includes goals from all competitions (Super League, Charity Shield, CAF Champions League, CAF Confederation Cup and National Team).

Zanaco captain Ziyo Tembo is the only defender on the list.

The list shows only players who have scored 5 goals or more.

1. Jesse Were (Zesco United) – 14
2. Walter Bwalya (Nkana) – 10
3. Idriss Mbombo (Zesco United) – 8
4. Fashion Sakala (Zanaco) – 7
5. Clatous Chama (Zesco United) – 7
6. Josephat Kasusu (Warriors) – 6
7. Justin Shonga (Nkwazi) – 6
8. Steward Chikandiwa (Nkwazi) – 6
9. Fwayo Tembo (Power) – 6
10. Aubrey Funga (Zanaco) – 6
11. Felix Nyaende (Forest) – 5
12. Jacob Phiri (Warriors) – 5
13. Martin Phiri (Power) – 5
14. Isaac Chansa (Zanaco) – 5
15. Rodrick Kabwe (Zanaco) – 5
16. Ziyo Tembo (Zanaco) – 5
17. Jackson Mwanza (Zesco) – 5


One Response to Nkana edge Nkwazi to go second

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.