I will not declare any seat vacant – Speaker

Filed under: Breaking News,Politics |
Speaker, Dr Matibini

Speaker, Dr Matibini

Speaker of the National Assembly, Patrick Matibini says he will not declare any seat vacant in the absence of written communication indicating that a person is no longer a member of a particular political party.

Dr. Matibini says he is currently hesitant to declare seats vacant owing to members shifting of their political loyalty.

He says he is amazed at the many shifts in loyalty by members at various forums including press briefings and the manner parliamentarian’s debate in the house.

Dr. Matibini says the trend is strange and a peculiar political culture.

He said this when passing a ruling on a point of order raised by Monze Central Member of Parliament, Jack Mwiimbu who wondered if his Katuba counterpart, Jonas Shakafuswa was in order to be in the Chambers despite endorsing the ruling Patriotic Front -PF-.

Mr. Mwiimbu complained that Mr. Shakafuswa who is also a UPND law maker has continued issuing disparaging remarks against his part even in parliament – ZNBC.


3 Responses to I will not declare any seat vacant – Speaker

  1. Shaka is an idiot, on which ticket is he a member of parliament., and why suspend mwamba and Sampa , let everyone sit in parliament.by the way, may is around the corner. Pay them their money both.

    Mutale chomba
    April 16, 2016 at 8:18 pm

  2. Matibini is from Zimbabwe and as such can’t take a decision against PF or even Simbyakula. The latter comes from Zimbabwe also and recommended Matibini to Sata. Matibini went to UNZA as a mature age student and was taught by Ngosa a fellow Zimbabwean.

    Motombeni Nyini
    April 17, 2016 at 2:46 am

  3. Just wondering!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! did the speaker make any mistakes this year???? what about mwamba and sampa….

    April 18, 2016 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start: 2019-07-01 End: 2019-07-31