Grand Coalition concerned with Lack of MPs in Eastern province

Filed under: Latest News,Politics |

Eastern Province Grand Coalition on the People Driven Constitution concerned of the long non representation in parliament of four constituencies from the East

The Grand Coalition on the People Driven Constitution making process in Eastern Province has expressed its concern and worry with the continued absence of Members of Parliament in four Constituencies in Eastern Province.

In a Press Statement released to Zambian Eye by Eastern Province Grand Coalition Provincial Chairperson Maxson Nkhoma expressed concern that four constituencies in the province remain unrepresented for a long time in some cases since June 2013.

The parliamentary seats that remain unrepresented in the province following court nullifications for electoral malpractices during the 2011 general elections are Kasanengwa, Malambo, Petauke Central and Vubwi.

The seats that were nullified by the Supreme Court last year were represented Victoria Kalima, Vincent Mwale, Dora Siliya and Eustackio Kazonga respectively and all were held be the former ruling party the Movement for Multi-Party Democracy (MMD).

The provincial Grand Coalition expressed concern that the four constituencies have not been represented at national level and this situation has hindered development in the area and non representation of happenings in these areas.

“The Coalition notes with sadness that these constituencies have not effectively participated in the development agendas of the country because of the continued absence of members of Parliament,” a concerned Nkhoma said.

He continued by saying that, “The absence of area members of Parliament for more than one year in some of the constituencies means that these constituencies cannot participate in legislative processes and cannot access Constituency Development Funds for micro social economic projects in the affected constituencies”.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court earlier this month ruled that the previous parliamentary seat holders were free to re-contest their seats.

The ruling Patriotic Front (PF) government had appealed to prevent some MPs from re-contesting their seats.

Eight former MPs who are free to re- contest their seats include Victoria Kalima (MMD – Kasanengwa constituency), Vincent Mwale (formerly MMD but now UPND – Malambo constituency), Dora Siliya (MMD – Petauke Central), Eustackio Kazonga (MMD – Vubwi), Lucky Mulusa (MMD – Solwezi Central), Sydney Chisanga (MMD – Mkushi South), Charles Kakoma (UPND – Zambezi East) and Hastings Sililo (UPND – Mulobezi).


2 Responses to Grand Coalition concerned with Lack of MPs in Eastern province

  1. point of correction you chaps, for malambo constituency its not vincent mwale but Maxwell Mwale. Dont mislead the nation especially people who do not stay in the area where these guys comes from.

    July 29, 2014 at 9:20 am

  2. Thanks designed for sharing such a good opinion, article is
    nice, thats why i have read it entirely

    October 20, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start: 2019-07-01 End: 2019-07-31