Opinion: The Church being hypocritical, how many people are in prison

Filed under: Politics,Special Comments |
By Joe Mwansa Lombe Kaluba
I have not spoke about the issue surrounding United Party for National Development (UPND) Hakainde Hichilema aka HH because of two main reasons.
The first one is because the issue is still in the court of law and secondly because l always want to avoid popcorn reaction. I always want to read between the lines.
Today l am motivated to say something because l believe my voice can add a point or two.
The other reason is because of the letter or press conference whatever you want to call it by our so called Three Church mother bodies.
First of all l want to highlight how a mother should behave. We are talking about church mother bodies aren’t we?
A good mother doesn’t use emotions when trying to bring about peace or love between or rather among her family or children.
A good mother seeks to put her interests aside before making judgement. She first puts the interest of the weaker members of the family first.
If anyone or any group of people or organisations want to claimed that they are mother bodies yet they don’t element themselves to the above characteristics then they are hypocrites.
Today the Church mother bodies can find a voice and speak for HH and yet keep quiet and ignore the many prisoners who are physically and psychologically in prison.
I understand that the nature and status of HH needs caution when handling it because of the bad image it might show to the outside world. However speaking as a social and political scientists l think focusing too much on this will just show that we can not face our own issues without fearing to be judged.
We are an independent country. We solve things our way without any outside or personal interest from those willing to speak for others.
I don’t hate HH and l don’t hate UPND. What l don’t like is people and groups who are not able to move with everyone. We had elections we have a new government so let’s move on and development this our country.
Those or things which want to divide or draw us backwards must not be entertained. Hypocritical stances should not be condoned.
I know all those leaders representing many followers of Christ have a role to play in our democratic process. However l believe thinking you are wiser than others will just bring about confusion.
We have to be smart especially when we talk about how religion or Faith Based Organisation can influence change or bring about misunderstandings.
In some parts of the world there has been or there is conflict because of the role religion played.
My advise to the church leaders is to think twice before issuing any emotional statements. Let us not quote the Bible when we can’t even hold a simple briefing on the many prisoners who are in jail.
The church leaders today want to suggest that Zambia is a dictatorship country. We have some things to work on as a democracy but we are more closer to being a democracy where all attributes are enjoyed. Suggesting otherwise is both hypocritical and popcorn reasoning.
I have always alluded to in all my writing that we only have one Zambia. Hence it is us her citizens who need to nature it.
In this regard before issuing any statement or doing anything we should always put the interest of everyone first. Not an individual.
As government, political parties, religious organisations, Nongovernmental organisations, the media, professional bodies and simple citizens alike we should all play our part in uniting this our Zambia.
The author is a PhD candidate-Political, Gender and Transnational Studies at the International Postgraduate Centre (IPC), Faculty of Social Sciences at Goethe University Frankfurt.

10 Responses to Opinion: The Church being hypocritical, how many people are in prison

  1. In summary, your reasoning doesn’t fit the qualifications you claim to have. Your mind is so cloudy that you cant see sense in what the churches you have referred to said. Granted, you have a right to your opinion, but its better to be objective in the manner one expresses his opinion.

    chama museba
    June 22, 2017 at 3:48 pm

  2. @chama museba,your summary is spot on.My brother Joe Mwansa Lombe Kaluba needs to look at the argument of the Church mother bodies.I was shocked so to say that in this modern day Zambia to charge a citizen with TREASON!.Sure,treason?ECLs’ plot will fail & it will backfire on him.My advise to him is to “ignore” the utterances of the opposition & work hard on the economy & stop wasting national resources on pursuing political opponents.All what we know more of Saul’s leadership in the Bible is pursuing David!!!

    June 22, 2017 at 5:29 pm

  3. You discussion does not seem intellectual. Sorry, am also expressing my view. You can honestly do better in objective thinking.

    bra bra bra
    June 22, 2017 at 6:10 pm

  4. Ba lombe you are misinformed or rather misinforming the masses and down playing the matter at hand.am sure by fronting you PHD and having the right to misinform the massess you are viewed as someone that speaks for them and if you are arrested for your views even people that believe in your rubbish will speak for you because you are more renowned than that peasant in nchelenge.the HH your scorn is not an ordinary person he has a constituency that is 1 half of the country, owns business that employs thousands and when he talks people listen.Its paid slopsided people like you that are raping our country’s institutions of governance with impunity what happened to morals and principles thats why these phd,s that have only bring curses on our beloved country “tell you what a college deploma holder in other countries is 10 time better off than you (PHD)pull him downs.

    June 22, 2017 at 7:46 pm

  5. the church’s duty is to talk on injustice. moving forward is good when the way is clear. hh is honest and can’t recognize something which was obtained in unhonest manner.the election results were not conducted for satification of everyone. serious, do you expect hh and upnd except when the court did not hear the petition. the judges news that there was time limit to petition but couldn’t sit on Saturday and Sunday but the day were counted. surely do you think anyone under the sun can except that and move forward. everything was not done in a normal what’s the situation we are now

    Stanford Simuuba
    June 22, 2017 at 8:05 pm

  6. This fellow is a failure i know him he holds an honorary phd which should be written under awards and never be regarded as a professional just look at how he flicks instead of saying in whole my writing, he writes “in all my writing”. because he should have written in all my writings. this tells how primitive the phd holder is. My dear, So many soldiers died at the battle front between israel and philistine but the death of Uriah the husband to Bathsheba was recorded as being painful and unfair and king David got punished for that why was Uriah`s death so special if other Israelites died there too ? because Uriah was a soldier too. i need your answer fake phd holder.

    June 22, 2017 at 10:02 pm

  7. Ngati mulibe vo shula nikunkala chabe natuma PHD twakumatako,people have been in prison for crimes they committed since time immemorial,even Barabas was a convicted muderer in prison in Jesus’s time,people like you cried `free Barabas,impale Yesu!’pompwe iwe,we hope you are adopted by the Germans ku Frankfurt uko malabishi popcorn iwe!

    The realist
    June 22, 2017 at 10:15 pm

  8. 1. Kaluba’s analysis is certainly biased towards the PF. A person of the claimed academic stranding cannot put up such a biased and partisan opinion without declaring interest. It is out of character for a genuine PhD student to state that HH is an ordinary individual. HH just like ECL is not an ordinary individual. HH is a powerful politician, village headman, businessman and leader in a big church (SDA). President Lungu, PF and the State respond when HH speaks. Kaluba fails to recognise these attributes.
    2. Kaluba’s writings have always been in favour of the PF. It is therefore, not expected of Kaluba to not support PF and ECL, and his distaste for HH and UPND has been consistent and persistent.
    3. Father Mapulanga in Vienna, Austria, has hit the nail on the head. The Catholic Church in Zambia has been consistent about injustices over the years. The Church has always spoken for the poor and weak. It is obvious today that the UPND and HH are in the weaker position while the PF is using State resources to pin HH and UPND down. Kaluba pretends not to see that! PhD student? He may be studying and presenting to his university supervisors just to pass but the man is not into learning. He is just doing it to meet the academic requirements but he is fixated on supporting his party of choice, PF and President Lungu. The Church on the other hand, may appear to be divided on the HH issue for the simple reason that some members of both the Catholic and evangelical churches leadership have chosen to defend President Lungu as an individual. That is why some people have seen tribalism in those supporting President Lungu. The actions of the police certainly characterise a hidden hand of power signaling dictatorship. ECL is certainly the beneficiary and ultimately those closer to this powerful individual.
    4. Clearly President Lungu is in a stronger position and does not need to be defended by individuals. He has the State resources to defend him while HH only relies on the law which President Lungu has had the advantage and opportunity to preside over to his advantage.
    4. President Lungu Dictator? Kaluba knows that is what his PhD brain would conclude if he chose to use his PhD brain to analyse the evidence on the ground. The Church on the other hand has used evidence on the ground to conclude that indeed ECL is a dictator. If ECL were to take his constitutional responsibility to protect HH from injustice not even the most mentally bankrupt UPND cadre would accuse ECL of being a dictator.
    HH would not have been charged with treason but something less. The petition would have been heard and the 2016 election results issue would have been resolved.
    The Church is looking at societal justice and political vulnerability as well as compassion.
    Why would people worry about ECL’s wellbeing today?
    5. ECL is not in prison charged with a death-carrying offence of treason. Mrs Lungu is not being harassed by police for trying to get food to her beloved husband and father to her children. ECL did not use personal resources to fund a nationwide campaign only to be denied the vote he won by an opponent he strongly believes he defeated.
    ECL was not denied the opportunity to present to courts of law evidence that his opponent cheated. ECL was not faced with 10 out of 14 days to present, defend and prove that ECZ election figures were suspect. It is almost 3 months since HH was arrested and charged with treason and the State lead by ECL has not started the prosecution!!!!!!!!
    Kaluba, a PhD student indeed.

    Real Patriot
    June 22, 2017 at 11:08 pm

  9. This so called PhD candidate should just stop commenting. He doesn’t think at all. Shame on the university that is claiming it is teaching him to think intellectually.

    June 23, 2017 at 7:41 am

  10. Simply an apology of a PhD student. Even a grade 12 can do a better analysis. Terrible Article is all I can say.

    June 26, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *